College vs the Interwebz: Smackdown 2.0

Permit me a mixed metaphor, if you will. A thought that has been kind of lapping at the edges of my consciousness is beginning to…crash into my mind with the force of a tidal wave. (I was going to say is beginning to take shape, but I’m sorry: under no circumstances is a mixed metaphor permissible. If you’re mixing your metaphors, maybe you should consider whether or not what you’re trying to say makes sense. Or just hire me and I’ll make it make sense 😛 )

But anyway, mixed metaphor diatribes and asides aside, I’ve been really starting to understand that, like it or not, I’m an entrepreneur.
I’ll tell you why this is such a big deal to me: I’m lazy. Like, not actually lazy, but lazy in that “I’m an artist just let me work on my art” way. All I want to do is write. I’ll reiterate that, put it in writing even. All I want to do is write. That’s it. All day every day. Just write. And sometimes, when I’m not writing, I want to read everything, and when I feel like it, critique the writing of others.

All I want to do is write, but I am a brand. And for the field I fervently want to pursue, this is especially relevant because I have to convince people that they want to read what I’m writing.
And let me pause here to clear up a misnomer that has been bothering me for a while, and to allow for anyone who is tired of reading this long post or wondering what this has to do with college, a PICTURE BREAK!!!!

OK. Now that we’re back and well-rested, let’s address this concept that “people don’t read.” To me, this is an incomplete sentence. It’s missing a direct object. Let’s revise. People don’t read books. People read. Even self-proclaimed non-readers stay on the Interwebz for hours perusing design blogs or car forums or video game cheat discussion boards or whatever. I challenge you to find a time when more people read than right here right now. I lose hours of my day on twitter (@bryoneyh)n persuing article after article that people I’m following post.

People read.

And we live in such a time that anyone can become an expert on any topic that captivates their interest. I wonder how long the institution of higher education will be able to survive with its ever-increasing financial burden and failure to provide the actual usable job skills and experience employers are demanding against a resource that is free, unlimited and allows me to create my own job experience. This blog, for example, is free, but it’s teaching and providing me experience with photoediting, SEO, HTML, CSS, Web 2.0, ROI, Marketing, Networking, Social Media, etc.
Don’t get me wrong: I loved college. I loved everything about it, especially my classes. I am a nerd. I take great pride in the fact that I can produce a technically-sound article that is readable and makes sense in about 30 minutes. I love the fact that people, after talking to me for a few minutes, usually end up talking about how they need to read more. But I also know that there are so many people who go to college not for the love of learning but for that piece of paper that says they’re hirable. And how will the institution stand up against a resource like the Interwebz, where all those people can learn about and create real-world experience for themselves, for free (or at least not $30,000)?

…which brings me back to entrepreneurship. Like what I did there? Took ya in a full circle.

Oh, and guess what? I spelled entrepreneurship right first try without spell check. Yea. I be spellin stuff sometimes.

I’M OUT!

Leave a Reply

