Arab Carrie Bradshaws/Why I’m Inept at Men

Yeah yeah. Another dating and relationships post. I’m going through something, OK? Sue me.

(Please don’t sue me)

I was reading through the freshly pressed blogs in hopes of leaving clever, quippy comments on people’s pages that would draw them to my page and then generate enough buzz around me to land me on the freshly pressed page…and I saw the “Will the Real ‘Carrie Bradshaw of the Middle East’ Please Come Forward” post.

This intrigued me for a myriad of reasons.

First, I read that SATC 2 couldn’t actually film in the Middle East because of, you know, all the sex. So they had to film their scenes in Morocco.

Second, knowing that, I found it really ironic that women are being deemed the Carrie Bradshaw of the Middle East, and it made me wonder if that’s an entirely complimentary comparison.

(Though I guess that really depends on who decided not to let the ladies film there and who are calling these authors the Middle Eastern Carrie Bradshaws)

Third, as I was reading her post, it also seemed interesting to me that one author rejected that comparison, and the other embraced it with a qualifier: she’s Sex and the City, but with no sex.

With the differences in culture and ideology that a comparison like that would have to span, it’s just difficult for me to understand why those women would be compared to Carrie Bradshaw–do we have no other female figures to embody the genre of women-written and read literature?

(woo–alliteration. and that was a complicated sentence structure)

For chrissakes, Carrie Bradshaw is a woman in her late-30s who refers to herself as a girl, who had to be talked into buying her apartment by her friends (and then had to borrow money to buy said apartment from said friends), who went back and forth with the same emotionally unavailable man for six years, who would gladly put herself in debt for the next designer shoe and whose books were called fluff by her own movie.

Not to mention, and this one is the kicker,

Carrie Bradshaw is a FICTIONAL CHARACTER.

Finally, and I guess the women’s movement needs people to fight on all levels, but it just seems like a very light and fluffy way to describe the women who are doing what those authors are doing, given the way the lives of Middle Eastern women are portrayed.

Or maybe I’m wrong.

I don’t live in the Middle East, I’m not Middle Eastern, and the only Middle Eastern women I’ve ever befriend I’ve met through work or school, and they all seem pretty autonomous. None of the Islamic women I’ve befriend have even covered their hair, actually.

I don’t know.

It just stood out to me.

Anyway,

I was checking out the blog of a self-proclaimed Arab Carrie Bradshaw, and I came across a post from 2007 called The Art of Game Playing, about The Game of Love, if you will. She was talking about how she didn’t understand the concept of the game, how it didn’t make sense that women were the only ones who had to play and how she was inept at any games, with The Game of Love being no exception.

All the way on the other side of the world and three years in the past, there etched into the Interwebz, are the vibes of my heart come from my soul sister.

I totally get you, Arab Carrie.

And for the record, I think your writing topics are so much more intelligent and relevant than those written by Darren Star and crew.

Note: This does not mean that I have not seen every episode of Sex and The City at least twice, don’t own the movie and didn’t dress up and go with my closest girlfriend to go see SATC2 at midnight the night it came out.

Because I definitely did.

And for the record, I think I’m a cross between Carrie (the writer thing and the neuroses) and Samantha, with a little of Miranda’s cynicism and social anxieties peppered in for extra flavor.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “Arab Carrie Bradshaws/Why I’m Inept at Men

  1. Pingback: How Job Hunting is Exactly Like Dating (and Why This Terrifies Me) | Bryoneyh's Blog

Leave a Reply

