This is Probably Why I Got Called a White Supremecist Racist that Day

I have two things to say today that at least 2 of my 7 readers will not like, but if you stick with me to the end I promise to make it make sense to a point where we can respectfully disagree, rather than you losing respect for me as a card-carrying natural black woman.

1) I DON’T FUCKING WANT TO SEE “FOR COLORED GIRLS.”

Whoo! I said it. I have been feeling like how you feel when it’s 4 a.m. and cold and you’re snuggled in your covers  and comfortable and warm but that beer you drank before bed has got your kidneys screaming and you know you should get up and that your kidneys are probably slowly being poisoned and it would suck to pee the bed at your age but the temperature dropped in the middle of the night and you know the bathroom tile will be freezing and you went to bed without socks and your don’t know where your slippers are and you have to get up at 6:30 a.m. anyway and if you do get up and out of bed it’s gonna be reaaally hard to fall back asleep for those measly 2 hours about holding in the fact that I don’t want to see this fucking movie.

But you know what? I’ll say it again: I don’t FUCKING WANT TO SEE FOR COLORED GIRLS.

I don’t need Ms. Oprah “I’m going to build a school for African children because they’ll appreciate it more” Winfrey and Mr. Tyler “Every black family has a crackhead daughter who abandons her family and a gun-weilding grandmother” Perry telling me it sucks to be a black girl.

Thanks. Noted.

I’ll skip watching a rape scene and having all black men vilified–I get that enough at home from my single mama.

2) I have opened myself up to the possibility that maybe, just maybe, it is possible to be a Black Republican without being an oxymoron.

Last night I went to a presentation called “Black America and Politics” at my school. It was cosponsored by the College Republicans, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and the school’s chapter of the NAACP.

It was designed as a forum for black students to come and be educated on the politics of the two major parties in this country as those politics apply to the black race.

The organizations brought in one local black representative of the Democrats and the Republicans, sat them at a table at the center of an auditorium, and told them have at it.

Well, I assume.

I was late.

My brother and I walked in as the Republican representative was in the middle of an impassioned speech about how Robert Kennedy had more of a heart for blacks and civil rights than JFK; how many civil rights advancements were accomplished through the efforts of Richard Nixon; and how Republicans of that era voted for Civil Rights Legislation in much higher percentages than their Democratic counterparts (and in some cases, where their Democratic counterparts voted against it).

Click here for more on that.

He went on to talk about Margaret Sanger, and how she conceived (no pun intended) the idea of Planned Parenthood to be used as a tool to control the population of “undesirables” in this country, which, whether or not you believe, is definitely something I’ve only ever heard either very hardcore feminists or very hardcore conscious black folks mention.

He wasn’t up there shuckin and jivin, basically.

He was just old school. He said he watched his father work in a factory for 33 years, enduring opposition, racism and hardship. And he said that every night his father came home and told him he better not let anything stop him from getting an education and making something of himself.

He said that as of now, only 20 percent of black children are born in wedlock, but before welfare (which he called something else that I can’t remember–I was so into it that I forgot to take notes) that number was 80 percent. He said that the black family endured slavery and Jim Crowe, only to crumble under the weight of a social system that only provides assistance to homes where there is no man present (i.e. welfare, which was instituted by Democratic president Franklin Delano Roosevelt, according to here).

Again, whether or not you believe this, it is talk that I’ve only ever heard from conscious black folks, the same black folks who raise an eyebrow in suspicion whenever they hear Republicans or Conservatives talking about how they want to take their country back.

Take it back to where? Cuz there’s never been a good time to look like me in the past.

He said Democrats are aware of how easily the black populace can be manipulated into voting their way–all they need to do is “pick an old white conservative and call him a racist.” And he talked about how Democrats have adopted the Civil Rights ideology without the action, and how blacks have stagnated under it.

He asked over and over that if Democrats are working for blacks, where are the results of that work?

…and then it was the Democratic representative’s turn.

And his point was something like: Republicans aren’t reaching out to blacks; Democratic buzzword this; jobs that; racism; there were only three black Republicans at the event;

and, the line that just really lost me,

“I mean…I look around this room and see Technicolor.” (because of all the brown faces that had shown up to the NAACP/NPHC Sorority-sponsored event titled BLACK AMERICA AND POLITICS).

He was a very poor representative for the Democratic party. And against his bleak background, the Republican representative really shined, talking about how it is possible for a lot of the problems that blacks in America can be reframed outside the lens of racism.

He named the disproportionate minority jail population as an example. He said that it is true that though black males make up only 11 percent of the general population, they make up 50 percent of the jail population. However, he said instead of looking at it through the ideological lens of racism, he looks at this figure through his life experience lens of people who have come up in broken homes. And he said that when reframed as such, the figure redistributes.

I found more information on this subject here.

The Republican representative said his goal wasn’t to convince every black person to become a Republican, but rather, to convince black people that their zealous, unconditional loyalty to the Democratic party was damaging overall.

…of course, I like to think I’m an Independent anyway so I wasn’t moved.

p.s.: I was shooting for irony with that title.

7 responses to “This is Probably Why I Got Called a White Supremecist Racist that Day

  1. This comment is what my friend J emailed me. I thought it was an important perspective:
    “Sounds to me like he came with the same rhetoric the republican party comes with…telling people why they shouldn’t automatically be democrat…but not why the republican party is a better choice. The fact is the republican party of yesterday is not the same as today…that is a tired argument. Planned parenting did become a genocidal organization. And okay so many African Americans have become too dependent on the government (actually people in general)…but what’s the solution? It’s about time these charismatic representatives of the republican party offer up solutions to the problems and not rhetoric to energize their base. But maybe that was the purpose of the meeting…”

  2. It seemed like he traced a lot of the issues that black people face to the disintegration of the black family, combined with the dependence on social systems (and the mindset that this dependence nurtures). He was a real “pull yourself up by the bootstraps and don’t let anything stop you” kind of guy. I don’t know if there are any solutions. I definitely think that, on the one hand, everyone should have an even shot at success, but on the other, that’s impossible. Most you can do is form a system whose laws and institutions are not designed to keep a certain group from being successful through their efforts, in my opinion. Once you get to that point, it’s a mindset thing (to me, and of course that’s very broad and assuming a lot of things about a person being reasonably capable of achieving success). He touched on that at the end, and I probably should have added it but the post was already long and so I pulled what I thought was most interesting.

  3. The republican had a good point though when it comes to blacks being loyal to the democratic party. I remember when I was young my grandma told me, “always vote for democrats” and I never really asked why, I guess from what I’ve heard her say I figured they were against the poor. So even before I could vote I was automatically a democrat. But lucky Odu had a program one year that I went to similar to this and they had a student democrat and republican rep and listening to both sides made me realize that you should do a little research before dismissing a an opposing party. So while I’ll still vote democrat, it’s mostly because agree with their views more than the republicans, voting for the less of the two evils really if the independents views are against mine as well

    • Yeah…I was definitely more of the Republicans are evil mindset until I saw how ineffectual our government has run with all Democrats in the house anyway. I do think that the 2-party system is more of a socioeconomic thing than a racial thing, but when they’re all rich anyway it becomes more of an “us” versus “them” thing in my mind. …Which probably, actually, makes me a marxist

  4. I wish i could have been there. If there was an event like this at the University of South Carolina, the republican would have been eaten alive. (Most) black folk this far south just aren’t having it. Their brains are like bulls, they see RED and their emotions flair up…or like they were “conditioned” to think this way without personal insight or doing any research. It makes me think of just how powerful of a statement Malcolm X made when he said that “the media have the power to make the innocent guilty, and the guilty innocent, and thats power because the media controls the minds of the masses.”

    It would have been nice to hear him speak. Black men like him are rare and its a shame. Black ppl like him have to fight for every breath due to the position they are in. Its sad because these are people who dont realize that the “fight” is all for “them”. This past voting day i posted a series of examples of civil rights leaders who were republicans, ppl who have scarified there livelihoods in the struggle to achieve UNITY as well as equality. long story short, the point was missed, and the focus of their responses was on the fact that these ppl were traitors to there kind simply because they were republicans…ignoring the contributions these people have made to civil rights. ) James Meredith, James L. Farmer….hell even MARTIN LUTHER KING, Jr. was a republican.

    Im on no neither side… republican or democrat….and it may sound remedial….but the reason is because these are JUST words….just words….its the people that attach meaning to these words…not vice versa. And if u know a little bit about history you know that the meaning and significance of these two words in the eyes of Americans literally switched over time. if ur asking what republicans are doing to solve things….u shouldn’t….you should be asking what can WE do to solve things….WE.

    this is getting long a preachy so im done lol

Leave a Reply

