The Implications of ‘Bryoney’

How many of you have a name that is shared by someone else?

How many of you have a name that, in grade school, at amusement parks, at novelty shops, you heard someone reference outside of you, specifically?

Congratulations.

You are not me.

My name is Bryoney, and while I know for a fact that I am not the only Bryoney in the world…it sure feels like it.

A while ago I really started to think about what it means to have the name Bryoney. You know what it means? It means that any time anyone in your general circle mentions your name, they’re talking about you.

There is no margin for error with Bryoney. If someone says Bryoney, they are talking about me.

I don’t know why that never hit me before. I think it’s because when I was growing up we used to move every year, so I just really did anything I wanted because….eff it. I wasn’t going to be living there next year anyway.

But now that I’m an adult and I use social media and I’m trying to settle somewhere and be viewed as a professional,

I’m really starting to realize the implications of being the only person with my name.

I mean,

I’m not so arrogant as to assume I’m really actually the only person with my name. That little trifelin chick from “Atonement” has my name. Google “Bryoney” and all kind of chicks pop up in the UK with my name.  But I’m pretty sure that I’m the only black girl in America or at least my current tri-state area with my name.

Do you know what it is to be named “Sarah”? It means that when someone says “Sarah was wayysted at that party, she puked and pulled her pants down,” someone else replies “Who? Sarah A? Or Sarah Z?”

Do you know what it is to be named Bryoney? It means that when someone says anything about Bryoney,

They are talking about me.

I’m watching this movie, “Atonement,” and I keep jumping when they mention that little trifelin chick’s name because for the first time in my 24 years of life people are saying my name and not talking about me.

Weird.

I really have to guard my reputation.

2 responses to “The Implications of ‘Bryoney’

  1. I love Bryoney. Bryoney who? Bryoney YOU. :3

Leave a Reply

