Killing time on my last night in Central America

Well,

Before reading this entry, you{ll have to forgive me if there seem to be random signs where stuff like apostrphes would normally be–keyboards in Central America are different and I haven{t figured out how to access the regular oi apostrophe.

Anyway,

Mi compañero has a guest in our room, so I am chillin outside on this here hotel computer killin time on my list night in Central America. What an experience. What a chance to observe both myself and the world.

One thing I have learned about the world is that black people and Guatemalans eat exactly alike. There are so many fried chicken chains down here. Even the McDonalds and Burger Kings serve it (P.S. and BTW I definitely tried the McDonalds fried chicken–it tastes exactly like what fried chicken from McDonalds would taste like; take that as you may). Also, like black people, Guatemalans put ketchup on anything. And I swear to goodness one night while waiting in a bus station, my friend ordered eggs and hot dogs and I ordered cup noodles. I just had to shake my head and laugh because I had a Salvadorian-Honduran friend in high school who told me that hispanic people don{t like black people and I couldn{t stop thinking why the heck not–they{re just alike.

So that{s what I learned about the world. What I learned about myself is that you really cannot run from yourself. Whatever it is that a person is dealing with inside is going to roll with them like carry on luggage–i swear to goodness, since I{ve been in central America I{ve found myself attracted to both a man who was in love with another woman and a mooch. You can{t escape you, man.

I{m really disappointed that I didn{t get to make out with the man who was in love with another woman though–he was freaking hot.

That{s it for now. I is sleepy, and I gots to get up at 4 a.m. to catch this here flight.

Also, if anyone{s interested in L2 transfer, I got to observe firsthand both as a second-language learner and observer the way that L2 grammar can influence L1 sentence structure during the acquisition period.

Lingustics say whuuuuutttt??!!

……

that{s OK. Nobody ever says whuuuutttt when it{s linguistics haha

2 responses to “Killing time on my last night in Central America

  1. Lord I’m so glad you’re okay! I’m going to rush you with tons of hugs when you get back!!

Leave a Reply

